Call Now

Vikram University

Updated on: Nov 20, 2015

For long, Ujjain is known for its antiquity and its rich cultural and religious traditions. It also has been an ancient seat of learning. Therefore, after independence, a large number of personalities appealed to the Central Government to establish a university at Ujjain. It was their proposal to name the university after the famous ruler "Vikramaditya". When the state of Madhyabharat came into existence, Ujjain was selected for the proposed Vikram University.

Vikram University was established in Ujjain on the 1st of March, 1957. The foundation stone of Vikram University was laid by the then Home Minister of India Shri Govind Vallabh Pant on Tuesday, the 23rd of October, 1956.

It has an objective to promote traditional as well as modern educational streams. In this University the teaching and research move together, language and literature find a respectable seat; academy- industry interaction is promoted; student-faculty-staff interaction is nurtured and supported; regional and societal issues are deliberated and discussed, eco-friendly activities are pursued vigorously and above all, the quality is never compromised with the quantity.

At present, the University offers education in eleven faculties (Arts, Social Science, Physical Science, Life Science, Education, Management, Information Technology, Commerce, Law, Medicine and Ayurveda) and maintains its own Schools of Studies in Hindi, English, Sanskrit, Library and Information Science, Russian Language, Jyotirvigyana, Political Science & Public Administration, Economics, Ancient Indian History, Culture and Archaeology, Commerce, Sociology, Philoshophy, Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics, Statistics, Geology, Zoology and Bio Technology & Continuing Education. Further, it has 5 Institutes (Institute of Pharamacy, Institute of Environmental Management and Plant Sciences; Institute of Computer Sciences; Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru Institute of Business Management and Scindia Oriental Research Institute), NSS Training and Orientation Centre, and 89 affiliated Colleges spread across Ujjain, Dewas, Shajapur, Ratlam, Mandsaur and Neemuch districts of Western Madhya Pradesh.

Today, Vikram University is a popular choice for its various Undergraduate and postgraduate courses among students in the state.

For further information related to Vikram University click on the links provided below:

Subscribe to our newsletter